Solar Builder

JAN-FEB 2019

Solar Builder focuses on the installation/construction of solar PV systems. We cover the latest PV technology (modules, mounting, inverters, storage, BOS) and equip installers/contractors with tips and tools to make informed purchasing decisions.

Issue link: http://digital.solarbuildermag.com/i/1072350

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 51

6 JA N UA RY / F E B RUA RY 2 0 1 9 FROM THE EDITOR Solar Builder (ISSN 2166-5362) is published bimonthly by Benjamin Media Inc., 10050 Brecksville Rd., Brecksville, OH 44141 USA. Copyright 2019. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. One year subscription rates: complimentary in the United States and Canada. Single copy rate: $10. Subscriptions and classified advertising should be addressed to the Brecksville office. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Solar Builder, 10050 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH 44141 USA CANADIAN SUBSCRIPTIONS: Canada Post Agreement Number 40830553. Send change of address information and blocks of undeliverable copies to: KML Logistics Group Inc., 118 Herald Ave., Oakville, ON L6K 1S2 Canada. PUBLISHER Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com EDITORIAL Associate Publisher Keith Gribbins kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com Managing Editor Chris Crowell ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com SALES+MARKETING Marketing Director Kelly Dadich kdadich@benjaminmedia.com Brand Sales Manager Hannah Schiffman hschiffman@benjaminmedia.com Conferences Sales Coordinator Brittany Cline bcline@benjaminmedia.com PRODUCTION+FULFILLMENT Production Manager Chris Slogar cslogar@benjaminmedia.com Graphic Artist Sarah Haughawout shaughawout@benjaminmedia.com Director of Web/Audience Development Mark Gorman mgorman@benjaminmedia.com Audience Development/Sustainability Coordinator Cayla Poteete cpoteete@benjaminmedia.com REPRINTS Wright's Media (877) 652-5295 • Fax: (281) 419-5712 Chief Executive Officer Bernard P. Krzys bkrzys@benjaminmedia.com President Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com Controller Marianne Saykes msaykes@benjaminmedia.com 10050 Brecksville Rd. Brecksville, OH 44141 USA (330) 467-7588 • Fax: (330) 468-2289 info@benjaminmedia.com T he new language in the California Energy Commission's 2019 Building Energy Efficiency Standards mandating that solar energy be a component of all new residen- tial buildings starting in 2020 will change the solar industry forever. We said this in our original coverage of the news in our May/June 2018 issue. We titled that article "It's the End of the Grid As We Know It and We Feel Fine," felt pleased with the REM song reference and moved on. But when we looked ahead to what we wanted to cover this year, it dawned on us that one article wasn't enough. All new homes in California are going to come standard with solar energy. Insert head explosion emoji here. Feels like we should keep talking about it — so, we are — in a new series we're calling Countdown to 2020. Starting with this Jan./Feb. issue of Solar Builder (pg. 8) and continuing until the Nov./ Dec. issue at year's end (as well as in a new monthly e-newsletter), we will have a new article every month that examines a different aspect of this mandate and just what the impact could be both short and long term. How are installers preparing for it? Just how much cheaper will solar installations get? How will it all ripple out into the retrofit market in California? What are the potential pitfalls and grid issues? If you aren't already a subscriber of our free e-newsletter, be sure to visit www.solarbuildermag.com/free-newsletter to sign up and receive the entire Countdown. Chris Crowell, Managing Editor ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com Introducing the Countdown to 2020 TM Inside Scoop We drove up the road to the Cuyahoga County sustainability office to drop off its framed Project of the Year magazine in person. When we arrived, they were deep in a meeting trying to work out some standardized PPA terms that they could use to drive more solar projects. They were also looking for software solutions that would help them best identify buildings and land to target. Point is, as we mentioned in our feature on the project, Cleveland is really look - ing to ramp up its renewable energy activity. If this gets your gears turning, I'd try reaching out to the Cuyahoga County sustainability depart - ment with your pitch and tell them Solar Builder sent you. They are open to ideas.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Solar Builder - JAN-FEB 2019