Solar Builder

SEP-OCT 2017

Solar Builder focuses on the installation/construction of solar PV systems. We cover the latest PV technology (modules, mounting, inverters, storage, BOS) and equip installers/contractors with tips and tools to make informed purchasing decisions.

Issue link: http://digital.solarbuildermag.com/i/865446

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 S E P T E M B E R / O C TO B E R 2 0 1 7 editor's note Hopefully the last thing we write about the Section 201 trade case The disclaimer for this issue: Everything you are reading was written before the International Trade Commission (ITC) made its decision in Suniva's Section 201 trade case. Here's a refresher on the timeline: • A decision on injury will be made by Sept. 22 at the latest. • If injury is found, a remedy will be recommended by Nov. 13. • Former reality TV show host Donald Trump has until Jan. 12, 2018, to decide whatever crazy thing he likes as the appropriate remedy. Knowing where this would fall in our print cycle, and after summarizing the story in our July/August issue, we made the decision to mostly ignore it this month and pro- duce the magazine as planned. Be sure to hit solarbuildermag.com for all news updates. Our two cents per kWh Filing a Section 201 trade petition knowing Donald Trump would be the ultimate decider smacks of reckless opportunism. We are not against government intervention when needed. We were in favor of the previous ITC debate (Investment Tax Credit) because there is a reason for government to incentivize the development of an industry that could benefit both the public and the future infrastructure of the country. But this trade protection move clearly runs counter to those goals. If module prices returned to 2012, GTM Research says more than 20 GW would be at risk of being canceled immediately. Know that it's not just the solar industry that's worried. We were chatting in the office with the editor of Compact Equipment, another title published by our parent company, and we started to explain the Suniva case, but he was already fully aware because manufacturers in his industry are terrified of the implications in their world too. Even conservative think tanks like the Heritage Foundation are calling it a step backward. And singing the siren song of more manufacturing jobs always comes out when politically convenient. It's intellectually insulting. Prioritizing those theoretical jobs over the current trajectory of renewable energy and solar industry development seems hardly worth debating (not to mention all the ripple effects in industries beyond solar). Whether solar cell manufacturing happens here or not, there is plenty of PV module innovation occurring that could lead to future breakthroughs for the overall industry, and we have a big section dedicated to all of that starting on page 20. Hopefully by our next issue we can all forget this happened, and the solar industry can continue on its same upward path If not, we will prepare to explore this new uncertain future in upcoming issues. Chris Crowell, Managing Editor ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com Solar Builder (ISSN 2166-5362) is published bimonthly by Benjamin Media Inc., 10050 Brecksville Rd., Brecksville, OH 44141 USA. Copyright 2017. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. One year subscription rates: complimentary in the United States and Canada. Single copy rate: $10. Subscriptions and classified advertising should be addressed to the Brecksville office. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Solar Builder, 10050 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH 44141 USA CANADIAN SUBSCRIPTIONS : Canada Post Agreement Number 40830553. Send change of address information and blocks of undeliverable copies to: KML Logistics Group Inc., 118 Herald Ave., Oakville, ON L6K 1S2 Canada. TM PUBLISHER Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com EDITORIAL Associate Publisher Keith Gribbins kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com Managing Editor Chris Crowell ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com SALES+MARKETING Marketing Director Kelly Dadich kdadich@benjaminmedia.com Brand Sales Manager Todd Miller tmiller@benjaminmedia.com Regional Sales Representative Hannah Schiffman hschiffman@benjaminmedia.com Conferences Sales Coordinator Brittany Cline bcline@benjaminmedia.com PRODUCTION+FULFILLMENT Production Manager Chris Slogar cslogar@benjaminmedia.com Graphic Artist Sarah Haughawout shaughawout@benjaminmedia.com Web/Interactive Manager Mark Gorman mgorman@benjaminmedia.com Circulation & Fulfillment Coordinator Lillian Lopeman llopeman@benjaminmedia.com REPRINTS Wright's Media (877) 652-5295 • Fax: (281) 419-5712 1 9 9 2 - 2 0 1 7 th 2 Chief Executive Officer Bernard P. Krzys bkrzys@benjaminmedia.com President Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com Controller Marianne Saykes msaykes@benjaminmedia.com 10050 Brecksville Rd. Brecksville, OH 44141 USA (330) 467-7588 • Fax: (330) 468-2289 info@benjaminmedia.com

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Solar Builder - SEP-OCT 2017