Solar Builder

MAY-JUN 2018

Solar Builder focuses on the installation/construction of solar PV systems. We cover the latest PV technology (modules, mounting, inverters, storage, BOS) and equip installers/contractors with tips and tools to make informed purchasing decisions.

Issue link: http://digital.solarbuildermag.com/i/979544

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 55

6 M AY / J U N E 2 0 1 8 Ideas, innovations for 'attacking the tariff' Solar Builder (ISSN 2166-5362) is published bimonthly by Benjamin Media Inc., 10050 Brecksville Rd., Brecksville, OH 44141 USA. Copyright 2018. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. One year subscription rates: complimentary in the United States and Canada. Single copy rate: $10. Subscriptions and classified advertising should be addressed to the Brecksville office. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Solar Builder, 10050 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH 44141 USA CANADIAN SUBSCRIPTIONS: Canada Post Agreement Number 40830553. Send change of address information and blocks of undeliverable copies to: KML Logistics Group Inc., 118 Herald Ave., Oakville, ON L6K 1S2 Canada. TM PUBLISHER Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com EDITORIAL Associate Publisher Keith Gribbins kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com Managing Editor Chris Crowell ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com SALES+MARKETING Marketing Director Kelly Dadich kdadich@benjaminmedia.com Brand Sales Manager Hannah Schiffman hschiffman@benjaminmedia.com Conferences Sales Coordinator Brittany Cline bcline@benjaminmedia.com PRODUCTION+FULFILLMENT Production Manager Chris Slogar cslogar@benjaminmedia.com Graphic Artist Sarah Haughawout shaughawout@benjaminmedia.com Director of Web/Audience Development Mark Gorman mgorman@benjaminmedia.com Audience Development/Sustainability Coordinator Cayla Poteete cpoteete@benjaminmedia.com REPRINTS Wright's Media (877) 652-5295 • Fax: (281) 419-5712 Chief Executive Officer Bernard P. Krzys bkrzys@benjaminmedia.com President Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com Controller Marianne Saykes msaykes@benjaminmedia.com 10050 Brecksville Rd. Brecksville, OH 44141 USA (330) 467-7588 • Fax: (330) 468-2289 info@benjaminmedia.com P rojections show decreases in solar installations and job growth for the next four years because of the #TrumpTariffs. The good news is: the solar industry thrives at squashing projections, and we at Solar Builder would like to help in that effort. For starters, in this year's Mounting Guide, we focused a lot on innovative ideas and solutions that are positioned to lower costs and open up new markets. We go inside a new initiative to dramatically reduce the costs of community-scale solar sys- tems (pg. 8). We hear from an expert roll former with a new modular ground-mount system (on the cover, pg. 24). We tally the downstream savings from a pile-less racking system (pg. 27). We go on-site to hear about a tracker company's new solar + storage power plant (pg. 30). We examine the value of foam solutions and energy density on commercial rooftops (pg. 32, pg. 38). Attack the Tariff! But wait, there's more. Starting in June, we are launching a mini-series online called Attack the Tariff. Over 30 days, Solar Builder is teaming with several sponsors to present 30 ideas for solar industry contractors, EPCs and developers to improve solar project economics and reduce costs. Each day on solarbuildermag.com , we will post a new tip, idea, best practice, financial concept, product solution, etc., that will address PV system installation, development, logistics and soft costs — everything beyond the price of modules. If you are already a subscriber to our e-newsletter, you'll start receiving the Attack the Tariff e-news in addition to your regular weekly edition, but if not, you'll want to head to solarbuilder- mag.com to sign up. Just look for the logo above. Chris Crowell, Managing Editor ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com FROM THE EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Solar Builder - MAY-JUN 2018