Solar Builder

JUL-AUG 2018

Solar Builder focuses on the installation/construction of solar PV systems. We cover the latest PV technology (modules, mounting, inverters, storage, BOS) and equip installers/contractors with tips and tools to make informed purchasing decisions.

Issue link: http://digital.solarbuildermag.com/i/992843

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 5 of 47

6 J U LY / AU G U S T 2 0 1 8 Submit your projects to our Project of the Year awards Solar Builder (ISSN 2166-5362) is published bimonthly by Benjamin Media Inc., 10050 Brecksville Rd., Brecksville, OH 44141 USA. Copyright 2018. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced without written permission from the publisher. One year subscription rates: complimentary in the United States and Canada. Single copy rate: $10. Subscriptions and classified advertising should be addressed to the Brecksville office. POSTMASTER: Send address changes to Solar Builder, 10050 Brecksville Road, Brecksville, OH 44141 USA CANADIAN SUBSCRIPTIONS: Canada Post Agreement Number 40830553. Send change of address information and blocks of undeliverable copies to: KML Logistics Group Inc., 118 Herald Ave., Oakville, ON L6K 1S2 Canada. TM PUBLISHER Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com EDITORIAL Associate Publisher Keith Gribbins kgribbins@benjaminmedia.com Managing Editor Chris Crowell ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com SALES+MARKETING Marketing Director Kelly Dadich kdadich@benjaminmedia.com Brand Sales Manager Hannah Schiffman hschiffman@benjaminmedia.com Conferences Sales Coordinator Brittany Cline bcline@benjaminmedia.com PRODUCTION+FULFILLMENT Production Manager Chris Slogar cslogar@benjaminmedia.com Graphic Artist Sarah Haughawout shaughawout@benjaminmedia.com Director of Web/Audience Development Mark Gorman mgorman@benjaminmedia.com Audience Development/Sustainability Coordinator Cayla Poteete cpoteete@benjaminmedia.com REPRINTS Wright's Media (877) 652-5295 • Fax: (281) 419-5712 Chief Executive Officer Bernard P. Krzys bkrzys@benjaminmedia.com President Robert D. Krzys robk@benjaminmedia.com Controller Marianne Saykes msaykes@benjaminmedia.com 10050 Brecksville Rd. Brecksville, OH 44141 USA (330) 467-7588 • Fax: (330) 468-2289 info@benjaminmedia.com I started to sum up this issue in your hands by saying "it's all about innovation!" and nearly barfed. Ugh. Innovation. You know what I mean? For one, it's a word overused to the point of being meaningless. But my gag reflex is caused more by the aura around it. Everyone wants to innovate. It is an overly sought-after objective, in my book. So much time is spent trying to innovate that we don't invest enough time and energy perfecting what's already working and maintaining what we all actually need. Like, endless funds and brainpower get pumped into build- ing a car that drives itself while the plan for maintaining and improving the infrastructure under- neath is left to rot. Solar innovation is different though. It's not just innovation for innovation's sake. Much of the new technology and concepts have the possibility to evolve and strengthen our existing infrastruc- ture. So, back to this issue … it's all about innovation! Innovation in terms of state policy (pg. 12), solar + storage (pg. 22), tracker technology (pg. 32) and reducing costs (pg. 42). The most prime example of solar's practical innovation (SEGUE) is our Project of the Year awards. Past winners have included a large craft brewery trying to be eco-friendly, a school looking for a shading solution, a utility-scale project that provided clean power on tribal land. All of them a refreshing blend of practical problem-solving led by, well, you know what. Submit your project this year Any PV project, big or small — we want to hear about it. Was the installation innovative in some way? Did it help a community? Does it just look really awesome? If it stands out, it'll qualify for our Project of the Year awards. To nominate a project (construction completion date must fall between Oct. 1, 2017 and July 31, 2018): Step one: Head to www.solarbuildermag.com/project-awards Step two: Fill out the form by Aug. 31, 2018. That's it. From there we compile the entries and put them up for an online vote in the following categories: Residential (pending enough submissions) Commercial & Industrial Utility-scale Solar + Storage Projects with the most votes win each category, but ALL nominees are also eligible for Editor's Choice awards. All winners are then featured in our year-end magazine and on the site. Head to solarbuildermag.com for more details and to enter. Chris Crowell, Managing Editor ccrowell@benjaminmedia.com FROM THE EDITOR

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of Solar Builder - JUL-AUG 2018